Skip to content Skip to main navigation Report an accessibility issue

ISSE Directory

Research Staff

Research Areas:

Mingzhou Jin
John D. Tickle Professor, Professor and Associate Head of Industrial & Systems Engineering, and ISSE Director
jin@utk.edu
865-974-1843

modeling and analysis for environment, sustainability and climate change; logistics, transportation, and supply chain management (LTS lab director); operations research and data analytics; advanced manufacturing
Websites: https://ise.utk.edu/people/mingzhou-jin/  and  https://ise.utk.edu/lab-center/logistics-transportation-and-supply-chain-engineering-lts-lab/


Tim Ezzell
Assistant Research Professor
tezzell@utk.edu
865-974-9036

Appalachian development, rural sustainability, historic preservation, participatory planning, sustainable tourism


Tim Gangaware
Research Director, Tennessee Water Resources Research Center 
gangwrrc@utk.edu
865-974-4777

water resources, erosion prevention and sediment control, stormwater management, hydrologic determination


Terry Hazen
Governor’s Chair and Methane Center Director
Methane Center
tchazen@utk.edu
865-974-7709

bioremediation, microbial ecology, climate change, systems engineering

Website: http://hazenlab.utk.edu


Nawei Liu
Research Associate
nliu13@vols.utk.edu 

alternative fuel refueling infrastructure modeling, electric vehicle research, and transportation modeling


Jiafu Mao
ORNL Joint Faculty Professor
jmao@utk.edu 

understanding hydrology, carbon cycling, and vegetation dynamics in the Earth terrestrial ecosystems using field measurements, satellite data, process-oriented land surface and Earth system models


Jonathan Overly
Director, East Tennessee Clean Fuels
jgoverly@utk.edu
865-974-3625

alternative fuel vehicle technology adoption, fleet, outreach, education, grant assistance, program management, natural gas, electric, propane, biodiesel, ethanol, EV, electric vehicles


John Schwartz 
Professor of Civil & Environmental Engineering and 
Director of Tennessee Water Resources Research Center 
jschwart.utk.edu
865-974-8920

watershed management, water quality analysis, river mechanics, fluvial geomorphology, stream restoration, ecological engineering, ecological assessment 


Daniel Siksay
Chief of Staff, East Tennessee Clean Fuels
dsiksay@utk.edu
865-309-6657/974-3866

alternative fuel vehicle technology adoption 


Yaoping Wang
Assistant Research Professor
ywang254@utk.edu

ecohydrology, climate change, energy-water-nexus, integrated assessment modeling


Sheila Webster
Program Manager
swebster@utk.edu
865-974-1985

DOE health and safety worker training


Catherine Wilt
Research Associate
catwilt@utk.edu
865-974-1915

sustainable development, social justice, sustainable regional systems


Yulong Zhang
Assistant Research Professor
ylzhang@utk.edu
865-974-3866

wildfire modeling, remote sensing of vegetation dynamics, carbon and water coupling, earth system modeling

Website: https://sites.google.com/view/planetlab/home

 


Xu (Scott) Zheng
Post-doctoral Research Associate
zheng@utk.edu

modeling, optimization, scheduling, and application of machine learning in industry to create a sustainable environment for efficient, energy-saving industries

 


Support Staff

Kellie Caughorn
Administrative Assistant, Tennessee Water Resources Research Center
kcaughor@utk.edu
865-974-2151


Madelyn Collins
Communications Consultant, East TN Clean Fuels
madelyn@etcleanfuels.org


Lissa Gay
ISSE Communications Director
lissa@utk.edu
865-974-8993


Susan Fusaro
Fiscal & Memberships Coordinator, East TN Clean Fuels
susan@etcleanfuels.org


Ainsley Kelso
Communications Coordinator, East TN Clean Fuels
ainsley@etcleanfuels.org


Bonnie Morris
Tennessee Water Resources Research Center
bonniemorris@utk.edu


Dylida Ries
Administrative Assistant
dries@utk.edu
865-974-4251


Savannah Robertson
DriveElectricTN Coordinator, East TN Clean Fuels
savannah@driveelectrictn.org


Sherry Russell
Business Manager
srusse45@utk.edu
865-974-3866